India blasts Turkey’s violations of UN Security Council resolutions on Cyprus

By Paul Antonopoulos
Feb.25, 2021

India’s Second Secretary, Permanent Mission of India to the UN, blasted Turkey on Wednesday about its violations of United Nations Security Council resolutions relating to its occupation of Cyprus, WION News reported.

“As far as the subject of UN Resolutions is concerned, we would advise Turkey to practise what it preaches by first implementing those UN Resolutions that apply to it,” Seema Pujani said.

Turkey has been supporting Pakistan over the status of India’s Jammu and Kashmir, including at the United Nations, but at the same time has been occupying northern Cyprus since 1974.

Pujani blasted Turkey by saying “we find them completely unacceptable.”

She also pointed out “it is ironical for a country which has trampled upon its own civil society to pass unjustified comments on other’s internal matters.”

Turkey violates several resolutions relating to Cyprus, including a 1984 resolution which said any attempts to settle any part of the Cypriot ghost town of Varosha by people other than its original inhabitants is “inadmissible.”

Last year Turkey partially re-opened Varosha to Turkish colonists.

The resolution called “for the transfer of that area to the administration of the United Nations.”

A 1992 resolution reaffirmed the 1984 resolution and called for Varosha to be put under control of the U.N. peacekeeping force in Cyprus – but that has not happened.

In addition, the occupation of Cyprus is to maintain the quasi “Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus” that is recognised by no other state in the world bar Turkey.

Read also:
'Terrifying': Egyptian opposition activist arrested off plane after emergency landing in Luxor

For a while Pakistan recognised the illegal quasi-state before it withdraw recognition under international pressure.

United Nations Security Council Resolution 541 and UN Security Council Resolution 550 recognises the so-called “Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus” as illegal.

India joined the United Nations Security Council as a non-permanent member on January 4, beginning a tenure of two years, with hopes of eventually having a permanent seat.

Published at